Trouver un vol

Enregistrement

Suivi des vols

Mes réservations

FirstAir-ChristmasPromo-SliderWeb-SMALL
Slider-2017HolidayFares
Slider-sidebar-230x210-Livery
Fret

Matières dangereuses

First Air veille attentivement à l’expédition de tout article qui lui est confié. Toutefois, certains articles nécessitent plus de soins que d’autres, comme les marchandises dangereuses. Grâce à sa longue expérience en matière d’expédition de marchandises dangereuses au cours des années, First Air est devenu le premier choix pour le transport sécuritaire de toutes les classes de marchandises dangereuses.


Définition des marchandises dangereuses

Les marchandises dangereuses sont des articles ou des substances aptes à poser un risque important pour la sécurité ou la propriété lors du transport aérien. L’ Association du transport aérien international (IATA) et Transports Canada regroupent les marchandises dangereuses en neuf classes:

  • Class 1:Explosifs
  • Class 2: Gaz
  • Class 3: Liquides inflammables
  • Class 4: Solides inflammables
  • Class 5: Substances comburantes et peroxydes organiques
  • Class 6: Substances toxiques et substances infectieuses
  • Class 7: Substances radioactives
  • Class 8: Substances corrosives
  • Class 9: Substances et articles divers
    • Piles et batteries au lithium, véhicules alimentés par batterie au lithium, dispositifs électroniques personnels contenant des batteries au lithium, glace sèche, substances écotoxiques, dispositifs de sauvetage, machines et véhicules ayant un moteur à combustion interne, articles magnétisés, perles polymères, solides ou liquides aéronautiques, produits de consommation, produits chimiques et trousses de premiers soins.

Responsabilité de l’expéditeur

Un expéditeur doit respecter complètement les règlements de l’ Association du transport aérien international (IATA) et Transports Canada lorsqu’il expédie des marchandises dangereuses. De plus, un expéditeur doit se conformer à tout règlement applicable établi par les pays d’origine, de transit et de destination. Avant toute expédition de colis par voie aérienne contenant des marchandises dangereuses, l’expéditeur doit assumer les responsabilités particulières suivantes :

  • Les règlements internationaux doivent être respectés pour assurer la sécurité des passagers et de l’équipage.
  • L’expéditeur doit veiller à ce que le transport aérien des articles ou des substances ne soit pas interdit.
  • Les articles ou substances doivent être dûment identifiés, classifiés, emballés, marqués, étiquetés, documentés et conditionnés en vue du transport conformément aux règlements de l’Association du transport aérien international.
  • Avant l’expédition de marchandises dangereuses, toute personne appropriée qui participe à ces préparatifs doit avoir reçu une formation lui permettant de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités.

Il incombe à l’expéditeur de déterminer si des matières dangereuses sont dans son chargement et, le cas échéant, de les déclarer en remplissant comme il se doit une déclaration intitulée (en anglais) IATA Shipper’s Declaration.La non-déclaration de marchandises dangereuses est une infraction grave en vertu des lois fédérales et elle incombe à l’expéditeur.

Toute personne qui enfreint ou qui ne respecte pas la Loi sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses se rend coupable de l’une ou l’autre des infractions suivantes :

  • Une infraction punissable par procédure sommaire et la possibilité d’une amende ne dépassant pas cinquante mille dollars pour une première infraction, et ne dépassant pas cent mille dollars pour toute infraction subséquente;
  • Une infraction punissable par mise en accusation et la possibilité d’un emprisonnement maximal de deux ans.

Pour tout autre renseignement sur l’expédition de marchandises dangereuses ou sur l’obtention de services d’un consultant en marchandises dangereuses, veuillez communiquer avec votre Bureau de fret aérien de First Air local.

Book a Flight

Web Check-In

Flight Tracker

My Flights

031017instagram-slider
101816samsung-slider
091916aurora-slider
091916facebook-slider
Cargo

Dangerous Goods

While First Air takes great care in shipping all items entrusted with us, some items need more care than others, such as dangerous goods. It is through our extensive experience in shipping dangerous goods over the years that we at First Air have become the First choice for safe transport of all classes of dangerous goods.


Defining Dangerous Goods

Dangerous goods are articles or substances that are capable of posing a significant risk to, safety, or property when transported by air. The International Air Transport Association (IATA) and Transport Canada group dangerous goods into nine classes:

  • Class 1: Explosives
  • Class 2: Gas
  • Class 3: Flammable liquids
  • Class 4: Flammable solids
  • Class 5: Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides
  • Class 6: Poisonous (toxic) and infectious substances
  • Class 7: Radioactive materials
  • Class 8: Corrosives
  • Class 9: Miscellaneous articles and substances
    • Lithium Batteries, Lithium Battery powered vehicles, personal electronic devices containing lithium batteries, dry ice, environmentally hazardous substances, life-saving devices, machines and vehicles incorporating internal combustion engines, magnetized material, polymeric beads, aviation solids or liquids, consumer commodities, chemicals and first aid kits.

Shipper’s Responsibility

A shipper must comply fully with the International Air Transport Association (IATA) and Transport Canada Dangerous Goods regulations when offering a consignment of dangerous goods. In addition, shippers must comply with any applicable regulations set forth by the country of origin, transit and destinations. Before any package of dangerous goods is offered for transportation by air, the shipper must comply with the following specific responsibilities:

  • International regulations must be followed to ensure safety of passengers and crew
  • The shipper must ensure that the articles or substances are not prohibited for transportation by air
  • The articles or substances must be properly identified, classified, packed, marked, labeled, documented and in the condition for transport in accordance with IATA regulations
  • Before a consignment of dangerous goods can be offered for transport, all relevant persons involved in its preparation must have received training to enable them to carry out their responsibilities.

It is the shipper’s responsibility to determine if dangerous goods are in their cargo and if so to declare them to the carrier by way of a properly completed IATA Shipper’s Declaration. Not declaring dangerous goods is a serious offence under federal law and is the shipper’s responsibility.

Every person who contravenes or fails to comply with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act is guilty of:

  • An offence punishable on summary conviction and liable to a fine not exceeding fifty thousand dollars for a first offence, and not exceeding one hundred thousand dollars for each subsequent offence; or
  • An indictable offence and liable to imprisonment for a term not exceeding two years.

For further information on shipping dangerous goods or for information regarding obtaining the services of a dangerous goods consultant please contact your local First Air Cargo Office.